Chur Burger, Surry Hills

Managed to zip down to Surry Hills one afternoon while working from Sydney to try out these much talked about burgers. Only managed to grab two burgers and a side of fries but I did like the look of the snacks and desserts on the menu like the ceviche or pickled prawns. Outside of the tasty burgers,  those two menu items are definitely enough to make me want to go back.

First up, the Crumbed fish fillet, pickled cucumber, lemon mayo, dill burger ($10). The burger was nice but it wasn’t really my style so I didn’t love it. I liked the bun, it was slightly sweet and really soft and fluffy. Strangely enough, each of the individual components were pretty nice, the fish was crunchy, the mayo was creamy with some nice tang to it and the pickled cucumber was refreshing and gave the burger crunch and I’ve always liked dill but oddly, together I didn’t love it. Maybe it was the hype, maybe I’ve got odd taste buds or maybe overall it had way too much sourness for my liking.  Having said all that, I probably wouldn’t mind getting the fish burger again like it wasn’t the best thing ever like all the hype suggested but it’s still a pretty tasty burger.

Second up, the Grilled beef, cheese, tomato jam, mustard mayo, pickle burger ($10). This was quite nice, it was pretty much a standard cheeseburger but gourmet,  which totally makes a difference. The beef was fantastic, a thick patty of beef that was cooked medium rare. The richness of the beef came through, and each bite was juicy. The strong flavours of the mustard mayo bounced off the pickles in a way that can only be described as being similar to a Reuben sandwich. Two strong flavours that somehow compliment each other perfectly with the cheese floating over the top, holding it all together. A particular highlight was the brioche bun which was soft, buttery and captured the juices flowing out of the beef to become the perfect thing to hold it all together. Together, all the gourmet ingredients just worked really well. Lovely burger.

Finally a side of Sweet potato fries, garlic, lime ($5). These were nice but personally I’m a big fan of potatoes so I think I should stick to them instead of getting sweet potatoes which I tend not to enjoy as much. Nevertheless, these fries were still enjoyable. The combination of tangy lemon with the sweetness of the sweet potato itself and delicious tasting and smelling garlic worked really well to bring savouriness into these very sweet veggies.

This was a pretty fun experience, I enjoyed it but next time I’m definitely going to set aside more time to try some of the other awesome sounding menu items, especially it desserts and ceviche.

Chur Burger on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

