Blood Orange Pimms

Following on with my blood oranges theme, here’s a simple thing to do with some blood oranges, especially in summer. Actually that’s probably a bad idea, it has just hit me as I’m typing this, blood oranges and other citrus fruit are a winter fruit, they’re pretty damn expensive in summer. Ahh, what the heck, a good old Pimms Cup can be enjoyed any time of the year, even in the middle of the super cold Canberra winters! Alternatively, how about late winter or early spring, plus! That’s when blood oranges are probably their ripest and reddest!

Oh, I should mention, I absolutely love Pimms! Hence, the choice to experiment mixing blood oranges and Pimms. A Pimms Cup was probably one of the first drinks I had with my friends. It was at a work event a couple of years ago that I was introduced to it, that time it was mixed with blueberries and Curacao. I took me ages to work out what I had but here I am experimenting with Pimms and making my own drinks.

So here we go, a super simple, super refreshing recipe with some blood oranges!

Blood Orange Pimms

(5 minutes, makes one cup)

image

Ingredients

  • 1 shot Pimms
  • 1 cup lemonade
  • 1 handful berries
  • 2 shot blood orange juice
  • 2 lemon slices
  • 2 blood orange slices
  • 4 mint leaves
  • 4 ice cubes

image

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients and muddle the ingredients until combined
  2. Allow the drink to chill and then enjoy

There you have it, with a handful of ingredients, you get this awesome drink! You don’t even have to follow this recipe, just take whatever fresh fruit you have around the house and chop and muddle it up with some lemonade and Pimms and ta da! Summer in a cup. Having said that, I really feel like the blood orange juice gives it a whole new dimension. It makes the Pimms Cup lighter, gives it that punch from the citrus and a lot more fruitiness. I also find that adding the blood orange also helps to take away or disguise the taste of the Pimms, so it’s still there as a lovely after taste but it doesn’t smack you in the face when you first drink it. I definitely prefer it this way but this recipe is up for experimentation!

Thanks Liz Posmyk from Good Things & Redbelly Citrus.

Leave a Reply

