La Sable Patisserie, Mitchell

DSC01458

So I started hearing some murmurs about La Sable Patisserie on the Internet a couple of weeks ago but I didn’t pay much attention to it. For some reason, when I saw the name and where it was located, I kind of dismissed it. Yes, shame on me. I shouldn’t judge places based on their names and location, lesson learnt. Because of my snobby stupidity, I didn’t get to lay my hands on the deliciousness available at La Sable Patisserie until last week.

La Sable Patisserie is a relatively new pastry stop which has opened up in Mitchell. I don’t know about you, but when I hear Mitchell, I think ‘there can’t possibly be anything good out there’ but I live in Braddon, so that explains a lot about my unculturedness. La Sable Patisserie is located in the industrial area next to a couple of trade shops, its pretty missable if you’re not looking out for it, as you can see in the picture below! It looks like a tradie store if you’re driving by. But once you realise its there and sample its goodies, I guarantee, you’ll be back too!

DSC01504

La Sable Patisserie is opened six days a week, from 6.30am to 4pm on weekdays and from 7am to 2pm on Saturday, which is great because I love sweets, cakes and pastries but can’t really get out to Mitchell before 4pm on a weekday and I won’t wake up prior to 8am, not even for cake.

La Sable Patisserie offers a range of pastries, cakes, tarts, as well as some pies and coffee. I went a little crazy and grabbed about seven items all up, which I’m sure you may be thinking is a bit much for two people to handle, but I ate it all! I arrived at about noon and they still had a good variety available. However, I did notice that there weren’t many croissants and pastries left. I also watched someone buy the last macaron so if any of this catches your eye, I wouldn’t leave it til past 12.

DSC01476

So I grabbed a ‘couple’ of things from La Sable Patisserie, including this Espresso macaron and verrine ($6.50) with chocolate, coconut and apricot. Did I buy this because there was a cute little macaron next to a cup of sweets? Yes, yes I did. I can’t help myself. I’m that horrible person who picks what I eat largely based on how thinks look. That kind of hurt me in this particular case (from a non taste perspective) but more about that at the bottom.

The actual dessert was great. La Sable had a couple of different macaron options, they had an espresso flavoured one, a hot cross bun one and another purple one which might have been blueberry, maybe. Since the stand alone macarons had run out for the day, I grabbed this instead to give La Sable’s maracons a taste, and of course I was enamoured with the cute little curvy cup anyway. The macaron here was of the espresso variety and was actually really tasty and was pretty much what you’d expect to find in all good macarons. Nice crispy shell, with a soft and slightly gooey interior. There wasn’t a lot of filling to it, which is usually disappointing but it worked here. The flavour of the espresso was still extremely strong and permeated throughout the whole macaron. The filling gave it just enough moisture.

I’ll talk about the verrine a little further in the post. Since I’m separating it out, it might be obvious what happened, but if you haven’t figured it out yet I might just keep the suspense going for a bit longer.

DSC01492

My next dessert for the day, a Blueberry and strawberry tart ($6.50). So I kind of thought I was getting a strawberry tart here, turns out it was blueberry. The signage for the cakes and tarts were a little inaccurate and they were a little busy so I didn’t want to ask too many questions. But who cares, because this was probably better then a plain strawberry tart anyway!

This was a great little tart (it wasn’t that small, it might just be inching towards standard sized). The tart was really creamy, buttery and littered with blueberries throughout. I really liked the crust especially, it had a lovely biscuit crumb like crunch to it while the inside was soft and slightly gooey with a ton of buttery smoothness. I also found that the fresh strawberries really added this lovely nice angle to the overall tart, giving it a little bit of texture and some balancing sourness to contrast the relatively sweet blueberry tart. Really liked this.

DSC01499

Next up the Lemon meringue tart ($6.50). Generally, I find lemon meringue tarts extremely hit and miss. Both parts are so important, if either the lemon curd or the meringue isn’t quite up to scratch, its so absolutely disappointing, especially since I think lemon meringue tarts might be my favourite tart of all the tarts out there. The sticky sweetness of the fluffy, light and slightly crispy meringue needs to perfectly contrast the really sharp, acidic and silky smooth lemon curd.

The best thing about La Sable Patisserie was that this lemon meringue tart was exactly what I just described there. Every element of this tart was done perfectly, and I could not have asked for anything more. The texture was amazing and completely on the ball. There was also a really strong and rich citrus lemon flavour to the curd and to top it all off, the base of the tart was super buttery and soft with little bits of crunchiness here and there. If you’re into citrus tarts, this is a definite must try. Oh, and if you don’t like the meringue part of lemon and meringue tarts, La Sable has you covered, they also do straight lemon tarts.

DSC01470

So, here is where the mystery comes to an end, I stupidly ended up with two of the same desserts! The Chocolate, coconut and apricot verrine ($4.50). Luckily, it was pretty darn tasty so I wasn’t too upset but still! What a waste of stomach space, it totally could have been used to try out La Sable Patisserie’s other tarts, like the pear tart, which I was tossing up. As it might be obvious by now, this verrine is the same as the verrine that you get with the macaron. To be honest, unless you dislike macarons, I’d go with the other one. For an extra $2 you get a tasty macaron and a much larger verrine. To be honest, I’m not 100% sure that it’s larger, it just kind of looked that way, it felt like I got more in the other version but maybe it was just the way it was presented.

Flavour wise, there were a couple of distinctive, powerful and strong flavours. The flavours worked surprising well together, complimenting and balancing each other out. The verrine starts with a sweet and moist roasted coconut and muesli, this was followed by a creamy and fluffy chocolate mousse. After the chocolate comes another layer of coconut, this time without the museli and more like the inside of a Bounty. You think it would end there but no, this verrine has two more layers, a fruity apricot jam and finally you end with a creamy and silky smooth vanilla custard. Its pretty much anything you could possibly have, all in a little cute, tasty cup.

DSC01435

If you’re not a massive fan of sweets, that fine because the savouries at La Sable are just as good. First up, the Quiche Lorraine ($4). I should admit that I have a weakness for Quiche Lorraines, even though it’s probably the most uncultured quiche in the world of quiches. When I first arrived in Canberra, I’d regularly travel out to Dobinson’s and partake in their quiches because it was the closest place I knew that had quiches on display (I’m still a bit too weird to try and ask for something that’s not displayed). I’m not sure if any of you have ever tried a Dobinson’s quiche but they’re pretty much a giant pool of buttery goodness, that somehow has egg and bacon mixed into it. That may sound negative, but it isn’t, there’s a part of me that just really enjoys a crapload of butter on things.

So, I guess it’s time I actually talk about the quiche that I bought here and La Sable, well let me start off by saying that the quiche was really good! It’s a pretty small quiche, roughly 15% smaller than most quiches at this price point, but the texture was really lovely. The egg was quite firm and held together well, not gluggy at all. There probably wasn’t as much bacon as I would’ve liked, but this probably ensured the quiche wouldn’t get too oily, something my heart approves of I’m sure.

DSC01456_1

Here’s a post bite picture of the quiche, as you can see, the egg wasn’t too oily at all, and it was a pretty good quiche to munch down on. One issue I did kind of have that may be visible in the above picture (albeit barely), the cheese along the top of the quiche eventually stuck together and when I tried biting into it, I almost took the entire layer of cheese with me. I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, but even I know that if I eat all the cheese in the first bite, the rest of my time will be a cheeseless joyless endeavour. Knowing that, I had to fight to ensure that the cheese stayed on the quiche with every bite. Just a slight annoyance, though I’m sure most people will just fly by the edge of their seat and just take each bite as it comes. I only wish I could be so brave.

DSC01444_1

Onto something more fancy, the Gourmet chicken and leek pie ($7.50). This was honestly a shock when I first got it, because man $7.50 for a pie is pretty excessive. I love pies as much as the next person, but yeah, that’s a lot. I should mention that generally, I’m really not a big fan of chicken pies either, they’re just never done as well as beef pies in my opinion. Though this pie has made great inroads into changing that opinion. Now, I’m not going to do a cost to pie ratio, but if I’m looking at this pie purely on the merits of taste and deliciousness, then this is certainly up there with the best pies I’ve ever had (Flute Bakery and Dojo Bread being my current favourites.)

First things first, the pastry needs to be mentioned. It was really quite puffy and flakey, and just a lovely rich pastry to have as part of a pie. One thing that surprised me was how it managed to hold up against all the filling inside it, because this is one of the bigger pies I’ve ever had! The base of the pie was really quite oily, so keep that in mind if you’re not into that sort of thing. I loved it though.

DSC01462

Chicken pies tend to be quite bland to me, either they use chicken breast meat (the mortal enemy of flavour) or they just fill it with vegetables and hope they do the trick. This is the exception to that rule. The main flavour that hits you with this is pure leek, they’ve clearly cooked the crap out of a lot of leek when making this pie, and the soft onion flavours really make this pie a flavoursome experience. One thing I particularly appreciated was that they cooked the leek really heavily, so that when you ate it, you didn’t end up with tough and chewy chunks of leek getting stuck in your teeth, they all went down really easily.

The sauce inside the pie was extremely creamy, and not particularly runny. This made it a pleasure to eat, because you weren’t fussing about with liquid pouring out and causing a mess. A really great pie, and easily the best chicken pie I’ve ever had, though to be honest I haven’t had very many.

DSC01450

Finally, ending with a classic, the Beef pie ($5). Now I love a good beef pie more than most things in this world, and this is up there as one of the better ones I’ve ever had, though sadly not the best. The pastry of this pie is fantastic, flakey, soft, puffy, just like the above gourmet chicken pie. The filling is of course a lovely thick gravy, that’s a bit runnier than the cream in the chicken pie, but still completely manageable. Swimming through that gravy are thick 1-2cm chunks of what I can only imagine is grade A beef. I know I’m describing pretty much any beef pie, but I mean, there’s only so much you can do with a beef pie.

I’m going to say something bogan here, but there’s one thing about this pie I wasn’t so hot on, but I’m pretty sure this is a personal preference that isn’t shared by most. I’m just not a huge fan of chunky beef pies. There, I said it. I just don’t really understand why they’re better than mince pies. When you bite into a chunky beef pie, you either get a mouthful of pure gravy, or you get a big chunk of beef. In the latter scenario, you inevitably pull the chunk out and leave yourself with a gaping hole in the pie. Not pretty. I for one am a fan of the consistency of a good old mince pie. I’m sure no one cares, but it affected how I felt about this pie, so figured it was worth saying.

DSC01460

Here is a side shot of the gourmet chicken and leek pie but the beef pie was also the same side. So, okay have you ever seen a pie this deep!? Its fantastic! I mean, I was a bit shocked when I found out these pies were $5 to $7.50, but really, look at how big they are. This pie pictured above is probably 1.5x the size of the normal pie, so that definitely softened the pain of the price considerably and makes it kind of worth it. Now you have no reason to not sample these amazing pies.

There you have it, another amazing patisserie in Canberra and most importantly, it’s open on the weekends! I mean I love Flute Bakery as much as any other Canberran, but there are only so many days I can have off where the entire purpose is to eat pastries. I’m very glad La Sable has opened up to fill in this gap. So, if you were hesitating because you didn’t want to trek out to an industrial zone, don’t let that stop you, because you’re totally missing out. This stuff is amazing.

La Sable Patisserie

6/83 Lysaght Street, Mitchell

Facebook: facebook.com/pages/La-Sable-Patisserie

Opening hours: 

Monday to Friday

6:30am to 4:00pm

Saturday

7:00 am to 2:00pm

La Sable Patisserie on Urbanspoon

4 comments

    1. It’s an important factor in determining pie quality! Yeah this one was definitely one of the better ones in Canberra, if you ever come back down here, and feel like a pie that has a decent cost to pie ratio, then we can come here!

  1. Your post is hilarious!! I enjoyed reading it and the food looks yummy. Heading over later to check the place out. 🙂

    1. Hey stefss, have you been to La Sable Patisserie yet? Was it good? Seems to be a bit hit and miss from the other reviews I’ve been seeing but for us it was just good all round.

Leave a Reply

